GNDU Recruitment 2026 (Advt. 13/2026): Assistant Professor and OSD Posts at Mukandpur College
Notification Overview
- Organisation
- Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar
- Notice category
- Latest Jobs
- Application deadline
- 21 Oct 2026
- State / UT
- Not specified
- Exam / Sector
- Teaching
- Qualification group
- Postgraduate
Qualification groups help you find notices. Check the full eligibility, subject and experience requirements below.
On this page
Guru Nanak Dev University (GNDU), Amritsar is recruiting under Advertisement No. 13/2026. The detailed post table lists one Officer on Special Duty (OSD) and two Assistant Professors (one in English, one in Punjabi). All three are at Amardeep Singh Shergill Memorial College, Mukandpur. This is a university teaching and academic-administration recruitment, not an apprenticeship. As of 15 October 2026 the online registration window is open, and it closes on 21 October 2026.
GNDU Advertisement No. 13/2026 at a glance
| Item | Detail in the official notice |
|---|---|
| Employer | Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar |
| Advertisement | No. 13/2026, dated 30.09.2026 (signed by the Registrar) |
| Application mode | Online only, plus a mandatory hard copy sent to the Registrar |
| Where to apply | The university website, digital.gndu.ac.in |
| Employment type | OSD: contract. Assistant Professor: not stated beyond the pay matrix (see below). |
Posts and vacancies
| Post | Department / college | Vacancies | Pay stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Officer on Special Duty | Amardeep Singh Shergill Memorial College, Mukandpur | 1 | Fixed pay Rs. 50,000 per month, or last pay drawn minus pension for a pensioner, whichever is lower |
| Assistant Professor | English, same college | 1 | Academic Level 10, entry pay Rs. 57,700 (7th CPC pay matrix) |
| Assistant Professor | Punjabi, same college | 1 | Academic Level 10, entry pay Rs. 57,700 (7th CPC pay matrix) |
Nature of the jobs
The notice says the OSD appointment may initially be for two years on a contract basis, extendable yearly up to the age of 70. For Assistant Professors it gives a pay level and says salary follows a Government of Punjab Finance Department notification, as amended. It does not describe the appointment as permanent or temporary, so check the full circular on the university website before assuming either.
The university also reserves the right to fill or not fill posts and to increase or decrease their number.
Important dates
| Event | Date | Status on 15 Oct 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Online registration opens | 1 October 2026 | Started; window is open |
| Last date for online registration and submission | 21 October 2026 | Upcoming |
| Last date for the hard copy and supporting documents to reach the Registrar | 2 November 2026 | Upcoming |
The notice states that hard copies received after the due date will not be entertained. The advertisement gives no dates for interviews or shortlisting.
Eligibility
Officer on Special Duty
The qualification stated is a serving or retired approved Principal of an affiliated college of a Punjab State University, or a serving or retired Professor of a university. The notice gives no age limit.
Assistant Professor
- A good academic record. The notice defines this as at least a second class with 50% marks at graduation level.
- A Master's degree with at least 55% marks (or an equivalent grade) in a relevant or allied subject from an Indian university, or an equivalent degree from an accredited foreign university.
- Clearing NET (UGC or CSIR) or a UGC-accredited test such as SLET/SET. Candidates with a Ph.D. awarded under the UGC regulations of 2009 or 2016 (and amendments) are exempt from this requirement.
- An alternative route: a Ph.D. from a foreign institution ranked in the top 500 by QS, THE or ARWU.
The notice also lists conditions for older Ph.D. registrations and exceptions for subjects where NET is not conducted. Read the full circular if either applies to you.
Relaxations and a point to verify
One note allows a 5% relaxation in marks at Bachelor's and Master's level for SC, ST, OBC (non-creamy layer) and differently abled candidates. A separate numbered note mentions the 5% relaxation only for SC/ST candidates. Because the two wordings differ, confirm your category's position in the complete circular on the university website.
The notice states that the full qualification circular is available only on the university site and that teaching-post qualifications follow UGC norms.
Application fee
- Rs. 1,180 including GST for general candidates.
- Rs. 590 including GST for SC/ST and PWD candidates.
- SC/ST and PWD candidates who are not Punjab domiciles pay Rs. 1,180.
- Payment is online only (credit card, debit card or net banking). The fee is non-refundable and is not held for any future recruitment.
How to apply
- Register and fill the online form on the university website, digital.gndu.ac.in. Applications by post, email, fax or CV deposit are not accepted.
- Fill the Score Card Proforma, which the notice calls an essential part of the Assistant Professor application.
- Keep ready your personal details, mobile number, a valid email ID, reservation details, percentages from Matriculation onward (convert CGPA/OGPA in advance) and scanned images. The photograph and signature must be JPEG files of no more than 100 KB each.
- Pay the fee online and complete every step of the registration by the deadline.
- Take two printouts of the online form and affix the same photograph that you uploaded. Send one copy to The Registrar, Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar-143005, Punjab, with self-attested copies of degrees, mark sheets, experience certificates and any reservation certificate. Keep the second copy for your records. The hard copy must arrive by 2 November 2026.
Documents and conditions to note
- Reserved-category candidates must attach their latest Punjab Domicile or Residence Certificate along with the category certificate. The notice says reservation benefits go to residents of Punjab only.
- Candidates who passed a qualifying exam by distance or correspondence mode must add a territorial jurisdiction or UGC-DEB approval certificate for the relevant session.
- A candidate registers once but must apply separately for each post or department.
- Applicants already in service must apply through their employer. The notice allows an undertaking in place of a No Objection Certificate, with no extension of joining time if selected.
- Candidates should check their email, including the spam folder, and the university website for updates. The university says newspaper notices are not obligatory.
Selection process
The notice refers to shortlisting for interview and to Selection Committee criteria approved by the Syndicate, with a score card and screening template published on the university website. It does not set out a written test, marks distribution or interview date. Meeting the minimum qualification does not give a right to appointment.
What the notice does not settle
- The opening line mentions "various Teaching and Non Teaching posts" and the notes refer to Professor and Associate Professor applicants. The detailed post table lists only the three posts above, so treat those as the confirmed vacancies.
- No age limit is stated for any post.
- No category-wise vacancy breakdown is given.
Help and contact
For technical questions about the online form, the notice gives 0183-2258802-09 (extension 3182). For general questions about the advertisement, use the same number with extension 3099. Lines are open 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM on working days.
Frequently asked questions
Is this an apprenticeship?
No. It is a university recruitment for an OSD (contract) and Assistant Professors.
Is the online application enough?
No. The notice says submitting the hard copy with documents is also a must, and it must reach the Registrar by 2 November 2026.
Can I apply for more than one post?
Yes, but you register once and must apply separately for each post or department.
Other job-listing pages supplied alongside the notice are general fellowship job lists and carry no details of this recruitment. Every fact above comes from the university's own advertisement.
Important Links & Source Documents
| Document / Website | Link |
|---|---|
| Application website (archived notice) | Open Application website (archived notice) ↗digital.gndu.ac.in |
| https://digital.gndu.ac.in Director, Public Relation, Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar. 1 of 5 | Open https://digital.gndu.ac.in Director, Public Relation, Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar. 1 of 5 ↗digital.gndu.ac.in |
| Fellow Recruitment 2026: Vacancy, Eligibility, Salary & Syllabus - MySarkariNaukri | Open Fellow Recruitment 2026: Vacancy, Eligibility, Salary & Syllabus - MySarkariNaukri ↗www.mysarkarinaukri.com |
| Director, Public Relation, Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar. 1 of 9 | Open Director, Public Relation, Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar. 1 of 9 ↗digital.gndu.ac.in |
This is an archived recruitment notice. Its application period has ended. Verify details on the recruiting authority’s website before taking action.