e-Sanjeevani Crosses 50 Crore Teleconsultations: Key Facts and Exam Context
India's National Telemedicine Service, e-Sanjeevani, crossed 50 crore teleconsultations on 15 September 2026, and the Health Ministry announced it on 6 October 2026. This post covers the key numbers, features, AIIMS expansion and evidence gaps.
On this page

e-Sanjeevani, India's National Telemedicine Service, crossed 50 crore (500 million) teleconsultations on 15 September 2026. The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare publicised the milestone through a PIB release on 6 October 2026. The event date and the announcement date are different, and exam notes should keep them separate.
What happened and when
The PIB release says the platform recorded a cumulative 50,00,92,730 teleconsultations across all 36 States and Union Territories when it crossed the mark on 15 September 2026. The release is dated 6 October 2026, and a GKToday summary appeared the same day.
Status as of 6 October 2026
- Completed: the 50 crore milestone (15 September 2026), the AI-powered decision-support integration and the ERSS-112 integration, both described in the release as already in place.
- Completed for select specialities: patient-to-doctor teleconsultation at AIIMS Jodhpur, AIIMS Jammu and AIIMS Patna.
- Planned, not completed: progressive expansion to other premier government institutions. The release names AIIMS (other than the three above), JIPMER and PGIMER Chandigarh, but gives no dates.
Why it matters
The milestone shows how far telemedicine has become part of India's public health delivery. The government presents it as a way to reduce the effect of distance and geography, especially for rural, remote and underserved users. Aspirants can also use it as an example of indigenous digital public infrastructure applied to healthcare.
Key facts at a glance
| Item | Reported detail |
|---|---|
| Service | e-Sanjeevani, National Telemedicine Service |
| Milestone | 50 crore teleconsultations, crossed on 15 September 2026 |
| Cumulative count reported | 50,00,92,730 across all 36 States and UTs |
| Ayushman Arogya Mandir spokes | More than 1.42 lakh |
| Medical hubs | 19,473 |
| Online OPDs | 901 |
| Registered healthcare providers | 2,41,923 |
| Languages | 15 (English and 14 Indian languages) |
| Daily consultations | About 2.5–3 lakh |
| Highest single day | 6,30,315 consultations |
| Technology developer | C-DAC, with C-DAC Mohali providing end-to-end development and engineering support |
How the platform works
Hub-and-spoke structure
The release describes e-Sanjeevani as having grown from an initial hub-and-spoke telemedicine model. In that model, Ayushman Arogya Mandir spokes connect patients to medical hubs, where doctors consult remotely. Separate online OPDs also operate on the platform.
AI decision support
An Artificial Intelligence-powered Clinical Decision Support System (AI-CDSS) assists healthcare providers during consultations. According to the release, it received the Gold Award under the National Awards for e-Governance 2026.
Emergency linkage
e-Sanjeevani is integrated with the Emergency Response Support System (ERSS)-112. The release says this is meant to link emergency response services with remote medical expertise.
Who uses it
- Women account for 57.14% of total utilisation.
- Citizens aged 46 years and above account for 40.15% of consultations.
- Senior citizens aged 60 years and above account for 16.25%, which is part of the 46-and-above group.
Expansion to specialist care
Until now the service has mainly been described as primary-care telemedicine. Patient-to-doctor teleconsultation for select specialities has now been rolled out at AIIMS Jodhpur, AIIMS Jammu and AIIMS Patna. The stated aim is to reduce long-distance travel and waiting at tertiary-care facilities. The release describes this as complementing in-person OPD services, not replacing them.
Exam-relevant takeaways
This topic fits government schemes, health policy and digital governance preparation. It does not follow that any question will be asked. Useful points to revise:
- Ministry: Health and Family Welfare; technology developer: C-DAC.
- Milestone date (15 September 2026) versus announcement date (6 October 2026).
- The three AIIMS campuses already offering specialist teleconsultation, and the institutions named for planned expansion.
- The link between e-Sanjeevani, Ayushman Arogya Mandir spokes and ERSS-112.
Evidence gaps and cautions
- Figure date is ambiguous. PIB ties the figure of 50,00,92,730 to the 15 September crossing. GKToday phrases it as a cumulative total "as of 6 October 2026". Because the count rises daily, these cannot both describe the same total. The post follows PIB's wording, and the exact count on 6 October is not stated in the supplied evidence.
- Government-reported figures. The numbers and claims, including "world's largest telemedicine implementation in primary healthcare", come from the government release. The supplied evidence has no independent verification.
- Missing details. The evidence gives no launch date, year-wise growth, state-wise breakdown, or timeline for expansion to other institutions, so none are stated here.
FAQ
When did e-Sanjeevani cross 50 crore teleconsultations?
On 15 September 2026, according to the PIB release published on 6 October 2026.
Which institutions offer specialist teleconsultation through e-Sanjeevani?
AIIMS Jodhpur, AIIMS Jammu and AIIMS Patna, for select specialities. Expansion to AIIMS campuses beyond these three, JIPMER and PGIMER Chandigarh is envisaged but not reported as completed.
Who developed e-Sanjeevani?
The release describes it as a Made-in-India solution developed by C-DAC, with C-DAC Mohali providing end-to-end technological development and engineering support.
Sources & Further Reading
| Document / Website | Link |
|---|---|
| E-Sanjeevani Crosses 50 Crore Teleconsultations – GKToday | Open E-Sanjeevani Crosses 50 Crore Teleconsultations – GKToday ↗www.gktoday.in |
| Press Release Page | Press Information Bureau | Open Press Release Page | Press Information Bureau ↗www.pib.gov.in |
| Press Release Page | Press Information Bureau | Open Press Release Page | Press Information Bureau ↗www.pib.gov.in |